In this page

Permalinks

Deepanwita Updated by Deepanwita

You can use Permalinks in Hiver to share conversations with others using URLs. You can choose to share content with other users of the shared mailbox or with anyone, regardless of whether they are users of the shared mailbox.

Depending on who you want to share content with, you can use two types of permalinks:

This type of permalink is accessible only to other users of the shared mailbox which has the email. If a user with whom the email is shared opens the permalink, they will be directed to the email conversation in their Inbox.

Private permalinks are automatically created for every shared conversation. To copy the private permalink:

  1. Open the email for which you want a private permalink
  2. Click on the button as shown in the following screenshot (link button)
  1. Click on the 'Copy link' button next to 'Private permalinks for shared mailbox members'
In order for private links to redirect to the conversation, you must be logged in to Hiver on Gmail. If you are logged into multiple Hiver accounts, the private link will not work.

This type of permalink will be accessible by anyone who has the permalink URL. This will contain all messages that were there in the email conversation at the time of generation of the permalink. New emails received in the shared conversation will not update the content on the permalink. Further, this permalink will be a publicly accessible link, which means anyone who has this link can access all the email conversation messages.

 When you generate such a permalink, a copy of the email is stored on Hiver’s servers.
  1. Open the email for which you want to create a public permalink for
  2. Click on the button as shown in the screenshot below (link button)
  1. Click on the 'Generate' button next to 'Public links for anyone on the internet'
  1. Click on 'Copy link' to copy the generated public permalink

As we know, the public permalink will contain all the emails exchanged in a conversation at the time of the generation. To include the latest emails, you can click on the 'update' button.

You can delete the public permalink by clicking on the delete button, as shown below

On clicking a deleted permalink, the user will see an error page.

An entry in the activity log will be created each time a public permalink is generated, updated or, deleted.

Account and shared mailbox settings

Account admins can decide whether the option for public permalinks should be enabled on the account that they manage.

To do so

  1. Click on the yellow Hiver icon on the top-right corner of your Gmail screen, and go to the Hiver admin panel
  1. Click on the 'settings' gear icon
  1. Click on Feature Access
  1. Use the 'Public links' option to enable or disable 'Public Links' for your account

Even if the option to generate public permalinks is enabled for an account, there might be instances where admins may not want public permalinks to be enabled for some shared mailboxes in the account. For example, within an account, public permalink can be enabled for the 'Events' shared mailbox and not for the 'Payroll' shared mailbox.

Admins, shared mailbox admins, and users who have access to shared mailbox settings can choose to disable the option of generating public permalinks for a shared mailbox by following the given steps:

  1. Click on the yellow Hiver icon on the top-right corner of your Gmail screen, and go to the Hiver admin panel

  1. Click on the shared mailbox icon to see all the shared mailboxes in the account
  1. Click anywhere on the row of the shared mailbox whose settings you want to access
  1. Click on the Permalinks tab
  1. Using the toggle switch, you can enable or disable the 'Public links for anyone on the internet'
To generate public permalinks for shared mailboxes, the option to allow the creation of public permalinks on the account should be enabled.
If a conversation is part of more than one shared mailbox and if the generation of public permalinks is disabled even in one of the shared mailboxes, then a public permalink for that conversation cannot be generated.

Public Permalink

On clicking a public permalink, the user will see an error page.

Private Permalink

If the conversation was trashed from the mailbox, on clicking the private link, the user will be redirected to an error page.

However, if the conversation was removed from the mailbox using Hiver's 'remove email from shared mailbox' option, then the user will be redirected to the conversation. The conversation will only contain emails up until the point the conversation was shared in the mailbox.

This works as long as the user had not removed the email from her 'All Mail' folder.

How did we do?

Bulk Actions

Reverse order of messages in a conversation

Contact