Managing SLA policies

Pratibha Agrawal Updated by Pratibha Agrawal

Admins can manage SLA policies at any point of time without impacting the existing conversations in the system.

If you edit/reorder/disable your SLA policies, the new configuration of the policies will only apply to the new conversations that will be received in your mailbox henceforth. Existing conversations will continue to run on the basis of the SLAs defined when the associated policy had been mapped to the conversation. This is ensure your older conversations are not affected when the SLAs in your organisation change.

Viewing SLA policies

  1. For a given shared mailbox, go to the 'SLA' section
  2. Tap on the desired policy, to expand it and view its summary including the description of the policy, SLA conditions, targets and notifications.

Ordering SLA policies

You should order/ rank SLA policies according to their priority in your business workflow. The ranking of policies will determine which policy a conversation should be mapped to.

SLA system looks for matching policies on a conversation on the basis of 'SLA conditions' defined in each policy. However, it's possible that a conversation matches to more than 1 policy on the basis of SLA conditions. In such cases, always the highest ranked policy is mapped to the conversation.

  1. You will notice a serial order number against each SLA policy which indicates the ranking.
  2. In the SLA section where all SLA policies are listed, drag and drop the policy boxes to reorder them
  3. The order in which the policies appear will be the SLA priority order. As per the priority defined, the first SLA that matches the conditions will be applied to a conversation
  4. Whenever you create any new policy, by default they are added at the bottom of the SLA list so that you can consciously rank the new SLA among the existing ones

Editing SLA policies

  1. To edit any SLA policy, tap on the pen icon next to the toggle button.
  2. Once you've made the changes to the policy, tap on 'Update SLA policies' to save your changes
  3. You can also edit a disabled SLA policy without having to enable it first. If you're editing a disabled policy, note that it will be enabled as soon as you save your changes
  4. Editing an SLA policy doesn't impact the existing conversations which are mapped to that policy. An example of how existing conversation will behave:
    1. The initial state of SLA policy 'Premium' is FRT Overdue= 2h.
    2. This policy is mapped to a certain conversation ABC
    3. Later, you edited the policy 'Premium' to have an FRT Overdue value as 3h
    4. The conversation ABC will continue to have 1h as the FRT Overdue time and will have no impact from editing the policy. SLA notifications (if defined) as per the original policy configuration will also continue being delivered

Disabling SLA policies

If you disable any SLA policy, it will be not mapped to any new conversation henceforth. However, existing conversations mapped to this policy will have no impact. The SLA information on the conversation and the notifications will continue working as is. This is ensure your older conversations are not disrupted when SLAs get discontinued.

  1. You can disable/enable any SLA policy by tapping on the toggle on the right hand side of the policy name
  2. Whenever you create a new SLA policy or edit an existing one, they are enabled by default

How did we do?

Creating SLA policies

Permissions associated with SLA module

Contact

This site is protected by hCaptcha and its Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.