In this page

Manage spam for shared mailbox

Deepanwita Updated by Deepanwita

It is very easy to manage the Spam emails coming to your shared mailbox. Spam emails are treated the same way irrespective of whether the shared mailbox is a Gmail type or Group type.

What happens when a Spam email comes to the shared mailbox email id

As with every other email coming to the shared mailbox, the Spam emails are also synced to all the users' mailboxes. But while ordinary emails are treated as a part of the shared mailbox, Spam emails are not. 

Following are the ways in which Spam emails are differentiated from ordinary emails. Here we will refer to the 'non-Spam' emails as 'regular' emails.

  • Regular emails sent to the shared mailbox are initially synced to the 'Unassigned' section of the users' shared mailbox,  but Spam emails are synced to the personal Spam folder of the users' Gmail.
  • The regular emails are already a part of a shared mailbox, but Spam emails are not, so you can see the 'Add to Shared Mailbox' widget on the right side of the Spam email. 
  • Replies to the regular emails are synced to all the users of the shared mailbox, while replies to the Spam emails are never synced till the original email stays in the Spam folder.
  • If a user deletes an email from the shared mailbox, the action is synced, and the email gets removed from the shared mailbox of all other users. But if any user deletes a Spam email from the Spam folder, there is no effect on the same email sitting in the personal Spam folder of the other users. 

What happens when you mark an email as Spam

When any user of the shared mailbox marks an email/ email conversation in the shared mailbox as Spam

  • The email/ email conversation is removed from the shared mailbox.
  • The email/ email conversation is moved to the personal Spam folder of all the users of the shared mailbox.
When you mark an email/ email conversation as Spam, that conversation, as well as all future conversations from this particular sender, will be treated as Spam

What happens when you un-spam an email

When any user of the shared mailbox un-spams an email that got synced to her Spam folder through Hiver's shared mailbox, Hiver starts treating it like a regular email.

  • The email/ email conversation gets added to the shared mailbox and gets synced to all the user's shared mailboxes.
  • All the replies to that email get synced across to all the users.
When you un-spam an email/ email conversation, that conversation as well as all future conversations from this particular sender not be treated as Spam

Removed conversation log

An email conversation can be removed from the shared mailbox in the following three ways

- remove from shared mailbox

- delete from shared mailbox

- mark as spam

Admins and mailbox admins can schedule a download of logs that will contain details of the removed conversations so that every removed conversation is accounted for.

Configure a removed conversation log

Admins and mailbox admins can create a schedule and distribution list for removed conversation logs for a shared mailbox. The following can be customized:

Frequency of log file generation: Generation of removed conversation logs can be scheduled at a daily, weekly, or monthly frequency. The frequency can be edited at any time.

Time of log file generation: This is the time at which the log file will be generated. For example, a log file can be generated at 9 am every Monday. The appropriate timezone should be selected.

Time frame of log file generation: According to the selected frequency, a log file will be created, which will contain details of all the conversations which were removed in the period for which the file was generated. For example, a weekly log file which is scheduled to be sent every Monday at 11 am, will contain details of all the removed conversations from last Monday 11 am to the current Monday 11 am.

The first log file will contain email conversations that were removed across the prior time period equal to the selected frequency. For example, a report schedule is created on Tuesday 2nd Feb with (frequency = weekly; time = Wednesday 9 am). On Wednesday 3rd Feb, a report will be generated containing details of all conversations removed from 27th Jan to 3rd Feb 9 am.

Users who will receive the log file: The users of the shared mailbox who will receive the log file can be selected at the time of set up. The selected users will receive an email containing the link to a downloadable CSV file. The list can be edited anytime.

The downloadable CSV file will contain a row for each removed email conversation. The columns of the file are :

Fields

Description

CID

Conversation ID is a unique identifier for a conversation.

Subject

Subject line of the email.

Created at (UTC)

Time at which the conversation was added to the shared mailbox. For example, if a user received an email in her personal id at 9 AM and added that email to the shared mailbox at 11 am, then the 'Created at' will specify 11 am.

Removed at (UTC)

Time at which the email was removed or deleted from the shared mailbox or marked as spam.

Removed by (name)

Name of the user of the shared mailbox who removed the conversation from the shared mailbox.

Removed by (email)

Email id of the user who removed the conversation from the shared mailbox.

Removal action

a. Manual

b. Trash

c. Mark as spam

Manual - if the conversation was removed from the shared mailbox by a user by clicking on the 'Remove email from shared mailbox' button.

Trash - if the conversation was deleted from the shared mailbox by a user of the shared mailbox.

Mark as spam - if the conversation was marked as spam by a user of the shared mailbox.

Set up a removed conversation log

Admins and mailbox admins can use the given steps to do the one-time setup.

  1. Go to the Hiver admin panel.
  1. Admins can click on the "Shared Mailbox" tab to see the list of shared mailboxes. Mailbox admins can choose the shared mailbox.
  1. Click anywhere on the row of the shared mailbox to access "Settings."
  1. Click on "Settings" (tab at the bottom).
  1. Go to "Advanced Settings."
  1. Use the toggle to turn on the option 'Removed conversation report.'
  1. Click on the gear icon next to it to access settings.
  1. Specify the frequency(weekly/monthly), time with timezone at which the report will be periodically generated.
  1. Choose the users of the shared mailbox who will receive the log file.
  1. Click on Save and enable schedule.

Please note the following

  1. A row will be present for every instance an email conversation is removed from the shared mailbox. If an email conversation is removed and added multiple times, every instance of the removal will be logged.
  2. If the email conversation was removed during the period the log file was scheduled and is present when the log file is generated, a record mentioning the removal will be present.

How did we do?

Import emails to a shared mailbox

Remove emails from shared mailbox

Contact