In this page

Remove emails from shared mailbox

Deepanwita Updated by Deepanwita

You can remove an email from a shared mailbox in the following two ways

Trash an email by using the Gmail's 'trash/ delete' button 

In this case the email gets removed from the shared mailbox for all the users.

The email can be found in the Trash folder of the person who deletes it.

Every user can choose whether or not to see the confirmation prompt. You can find the option here

  1. Click on the yellow gear icon
  2. Choose My Settings
  3. Use the toggle for the option 'Delete Confirmation'.

Use the option 'Remove email from Shared Mailbox'

You can use this to remove the email from the shared mailbox for all the users. You can find the option here

  1. Open email and click on the 3 dots on the top right of the Hiver widget, to find the option 'Remove email from shared mailbox'.

The email can be found in the 'All Mail' folder for all users.

Please note

  • Removing the email from the shared mailbox will not delete the email.
  • Whenever an email is removed from a shared mailbox, an Activity feed is created on the Activity panel which keeps a record of who removed the email.
  • You can add the email back to a shared mailbox by using the 'Add to Shared Mailbox' button.

How did we do?

Manage spam for shared mailbox

Contact